8 Comments

Feature and Follow Friday #5: Book I Hate

Feature FridayFeature and Follow Friday is hosted by fellow bloggers Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. Every Friday they feature one or two bloggers and pose a question for other participating bloggers to answer. It’s a chance to find some new blogs to visit, and gain some new followers in return. This week’s featured blogger is Pinker Than Fiction Reviews! So take a moment to head on over there and check them out!

Here’s this week’s question for participants: Name a book you hated

CallousDescription: The disappearance of an attractive young woman plunges a small Texas town into a frenzy of paranoia and recrimination. With each day Ester remains missing, the accusations and rumors grow wilder and more outrageous. Assistant DA Diane Marshall and her husband, Deputy Max Konstantin, investigate the usual leads, including the unorthodox tenets of Ester’s conservative Christian sect and her father’s peculiar business dealings. Mounting forensic evidence and a chilling eyewitness account suggest that Ester is the victim of abduction and satanic ritual murder. When the witness names the deputy sheriff as the murderer, the townspeople reach the brink of hysteria. The labyrinthine plot of this singular crime drama probes themes of faith and prayer, forensic investigation, moral panic, mass delusion, and false memory.

I hated this book with such a passion. First of all, this is proof that highly intelligent and educated people do not always make great fictional authors. There are so many criminal psychological profiles and terms being used that it’s beyond ridiculous. Further more, there are random religious issues being thrown in the middle of this case of a missing young woman. Something about genetically perfect bred cows and Jewish people? It’s a complete cluster fuck and had this author actually read any fictional pieces in the past, they may have realized that sometimes the KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid) method typically is better received than tossing out every intellectual reference you can throw out. Basically, it reads as if the author is trying to prove how smart they are.

I’m really hoping to have new Goodreads followers and e-mail subscriptions this week. Please comment below and I promise I will return the follow as soon as I can!

Click here to enter your blog’s link and view this week’s Linky list…

About Kristine

As an aspiring author, avid bookworm, fitness fanatic and dedicated mother, there just aren't enough hours in the day. I write or post about things I'm passionate about and spend my time trying to make the most of every day. Life may be a tough journey, but I have my ruby red slippers and am content on skipping along this yellow brick road until the end of the line.

8 comments on “Feature and Follow Friday #5: Book I Hate

  1. I’ve never heard about this book and I’m glad for that considering your reasons.
    Old follower via Bloglovin’, but new one via GoodReads and FB.

    • Ironically, I only found this book because one of my challenges was to read a book by an author with my initials. It was really hard to find K.T., so I figured T. K. was close enough since I spent weeks looking.

  2. Definitely doesn’t sound like one I’d enjoy either. Old follower.

    My FF!

  3. I’ve never heard of this book. It sounds like it was completely unenjoyable and probably something I’d hate reading too. Thank you so much for visiting and following! New follower via BlogLovin.

  4. Glad i didn’t read it. Sounds to arrogant for my taste. Following you back 🙂

  5. The blurb makes the novel sound pretty good–too bad it doesn’t live up to its premise! Sounds like it may have had too much going on and may have been showing off. Can’t say I’ll be adding this one to my TBR list!

    Thanks for posting & for checking out my FF this week! I’m a new follower (via email)! 🙂

    Dominique
    The Book Vault

  6. The cover itself looks pretty bad for me, have all intention of staying away from this book 🙂

    New follower 🙂

    HannahCassie @ http://psilovethatbook.blogspot.co.uk/

Leave a comment