Leave a comment

Book Reading Challenge 1/11/15 Update

Updated Book Challenge List

It’s the end of the first full week of the New Year and I thought it would be good for me to post where I’m at in my reading challenges, especially the one with all the specific kinds of books to read. So far, I feel I am doing well enough as I have read six books and cleared off 5 of the challenges listed above.

The books I have read so far are:

house of hades

The House of Hades by Ric Riordan

Challenge: A book with more than 500 pages, a book with nonhuman characters, a book with magic

Review: So I have some good news and some bad news about this book.The good news is the storyline following Percy and Annabeth was not only interesting, but entertaining… Read More

 

the-blood-of-olympus-cover

The Blood of Olympus by Ric Riordan

Challenge: A book with more than 500 pages, a book with nonhuman characters, a book with magic

Review: As I finish The Heroes of Olympus series, I find myself only recalling a few trivial things that I didn’t like about it. I say this happily as I have been torn about the tone of the story from the beginning of The Lost Hero… Read More

 

TWD Vol 17 Something to Fear

The Walking Dead: Something to Fear by Robert Kirkman

Challenge: A book book with nonhuman characters, a book you can finish in a day, a graphic novel

Review: So it’s been a few weeks since I read Volume 16 and it took several pages for me to regain my footing and recall where I had left off. All in all, it’s a fairly busy part of the series as there are several confrontations with Negan and the Saviors and one of the characters… Read More

TWD Vol 18 What Comes After

The Walking Dead: What Comes After by Robert Kirkman

Challenge: A book book with nonhuman characters, a book you can finish in a day, a graphic novel

Review: In this edition you get to glimpse the brilliance that comes from the darkest depths of Robert Kirkman’s mind. While it probably makes me a weirdo to admit this… Read More

 

TWD Vol 19 March to War

The Walking Dead: March to War by Robert Kirkman

Challenge: A book book with nonhuman characters, a book you can finish in a day, a graphic novel

Review: Let me just say, I think this volume should have been titled “Rick Half-cocked.” I say this because Rick does something so stupid, he… Read More

 

TWD Vol 20 All Out War

The Walking Dead: All Out War Part 1 by Robert Kirkman

Challenge: A book book with nonhuman characters, a book you can finish in a day, a graphic novel

Review: In part one of All Out War, we finally see Negan struggle to maintain control for the first time since his introduction. As Rick’s group… Read More

Currently Reading: Personal Demon by Kelley Armstrong

Tabloid Reporter Hope Adams appears to live the life of an ordinary working girl. But in addition to possessing the beauty of a Bollywood princess, Hope has other unique traits. For she is a half demon – A human fathered by a demon. And she’s inherited not only a gift for seeing the past but a hunger for chaos – along with a talent for finding it wherever she can. Naturally, when she’s chosen by a very dangerous group for a very dangerous mission, she jumps at the chance…

The head of the powerful Cortez Cabel – a family that makes the mob look like amateurs – has a little problem in Miami: a gang of wealthy, bored offspring of supernaturals is getting out of hand, and Hope is needed to infiltrate. As spells, astral projections, and pheromones soar across South Beach, Hope weaves her way through its elite hot spots, posing as upscale eye candy and reading the auras of the clientele – and potential marks.

As it turns out Hope is a little too good at this job. And soon she’s in a little too deep, needing to be bailed out by her jewel-thief werewolf ex-boyfriend and by the Cortez heir himself. And when a killer goes to work, Hope is among many targets at the pinnacle of Cabal rule. For a woman who didn’t know what she’s getting into, there’s only one way out: it’s time for Hope to unleash her most potent and primal instincts – and open herself, mind and body, to everything she most fears… and desires.

This is actually one that I had started to read last spring and then my tablet died. Fortunately, after several months, I found a physical copy through the local library system and can finish what I had started. But to be fair, I’m going to start it over from the beginning, because in truth, I completely forgot most of what I had originally read. It won’t cross off any challenges, but it’ll help me get one book closer to my goal of reading at least 75 books this year.

Happy reading for now!

About Kristine

As an aspiring author, avid bookworm, fitness fanatic and dedicated mother, there just aren't enough hours in the day. I write or post about things I'm passionate about and spend my time trying to make the most of every day. Life may be a tough journey, but I have my ruby red slippers and am content on skipping along this yellow brick road until the end of the line.

Leave a comment